This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mayotte (France)

Collectivité départementale de Mayotte; Mahoré; M'Ayota

Last modified: 2005-06-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: mayotte | mahore | africa | france | comoros | crescent (white) | flowers: 2 (yellow) | sea horses: 2 | stars: 4 (white) | front democratique des iles comores |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[French Flag]by Željko Heimer

See also:

Presentation of Mayotte

Mayotte, made of two islands (Grande Terre, 362.3 sq. km, 80,758 inhabitants, and Petite Terre, 11 sq. km, 13,627 inhabitants) was sold by Sultan Adriansouli on 25 April 1841 to Commandant Passot, who was looking for a port for the French Navy. In spite of the opposition of United Kingdom and the other Sultans from the Comoros, the purchase was ratified by King Louis-Philippe on 10 February 1843 and the island formally annexed on 13 June 1843. Anjouan recognized the annexation in September 1843. On 29 August 1843, Mayotte was incorporate